Airbox Lights Review

Back at NAB I picked up a couple of Aibox Lights (airboxlights.com) right off the show floor. I wrote about these inflatable soft boxes during my coverage of the show (widenmedia.com), but I finally got around to properly testing them out. Overall I was really happy with how they performed.

abl_hero

What initially drew me to the Airbox Lights is that they are specifically built for LED lights; making them the perfect accent for my Ikan IFB-1024 lights. I’m tailoring my light kit to work more free-form/ run-and-gun and having softboxes that deflate and pack down flat makes them perfect for my kit.

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 12.14.24 PM

The boxes themselves have straps that tighten them to the light. Attaching the Airbox Lights is quick and simple, meaning quicker setup overall.They also feature a sleeve on the front panel for sliding in gels. Airbox Lights also offers an egg crate (which I haven’t used/bought) that velcros right onto the boxes.

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 12.14.48 PM

The hardest part about using them is that I had to completely remove the barn doors from the 1024’s. This was the only major downside that I found in using the Airbox Lights. Because I’m moving to a quicker style of lighting setup having to remove the barn doors when I want to use the boxes becomes tedious.

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 12.16.06 PM

In testing the Airbox Lights I found that at 100% intensity the diffusion cuts down about a stop to a stop and a half of light. And they do a great job at softening the light and evening out the light.

Check out my video review here:

Airbox Lights Review from Jeremy Widen on Vimeo.

After the video was posted it was pointed out to me that the Airbox Lights aren’t any better than using straight diffusion. I haven’t done any tests to compare the two, but what I noticed from the Airbox Lights is that the light is dispersed in a wider pattern than the diffusion that comes with the IFB-1024. I’ll work on getting a video done to comparethe two.

Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 1.57.59 PM

If you’re in the market for a great way to cut down on the harshness of LED lights, then the Airbox Lights are a solid solution. The Model 1×1 fall in under $100, making them super comparable to other LED softboxes at higher prices. For more information about the Airbox Lights visit airboxlights.com¬†and follow them on twitter (@airboxlights).

Screen-shot-2014-04-11-at-12.14.22-PM

 

 

 

Airbox Lights Review

Post a Comment